The Free State of Jones

Hear my 2015 Interview about the “Free State of Jones” at 2-3 pm today!

FSOJ movie editionby Vikki Bynum, author of The Free State of Jones

With the imminent release of the movieFree State of Jones happening on June 24, 2016, Thorne Dreyer, host of Austin’s historic Rag Radio, KOOP 91.7-FM, will re-broadcast his July 2015 interview with me at 2-3 pm today, June 10, 2016. latest movie poster

 

Gregg Andrews of Dr. G and the Mudcats is with me in the studio. His performance of “Jones County Jubilee” with the Mudcats plays during the interview break! Dr. G and the Mudcats

 

To listen, click here

If you miss today’s live broadcast from 2-3 pm, you can listen to the original podcast by clicking here

 

me thorne tracey

vikki Bynum, Thorne Dreyer, Tracey Schultz

Rag Radio, with host Thorne Dreyer

3 replies »

  1. Hello. I just finished reading The Free State of Jones and am so eager to know if I may be related. My name is Joey Knight from the Lamar County, Alabama area (about 190 miles northeast of Jones County, MS). The farthest I have traced back is to my great-great grandfather James Madison Knight whom begat my great-grandfather Horace Burton Knight and then my grandfather Bobbie Joe Knight and of course father Joey Lee Knight and uncle Jackie Knight.

    I was told we came down from the North/South Carolina Piedmont region. Thank you so much for the book and if you could help me in anyway to know if I am related to the fine man that was Newt Knight I would very appreciative.

    • Joey, I have not traced the related lines of the Knight family that settled in Mississippi. Newt Knight’s ancestors came from around Hereford County, North Carolina. They migrated to Wrightsboro, GA. sometime around the American Revolution. Jackie Knight, with his mother Mary in his care, moved to the Covington County, MS, area around 1817. He owned land and slaves in both Covington and Jones County, MS.

      Vikki

Leave a Reply

